Friday, October 9, 2009

2009 Nobel Peace Price Winner

44 is snagging another huge accolade. It was announced that President Barack Obama is the recipient of the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize.

The committee for the Nobel Foundation says, "for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples"

Congrats Mr. President!

FYI: The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 89 times to 119 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2008 – 96 times to individuals and 23 times to organizations.

Below are the winners of the honor of the past ten years...

2009 - Barack Obama
2008 - Martti Ahtisaari
2007 - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Al Gore
2006 - Muhammad Yunus, Grameen Bank
2005 - International Atomic Energy Agency, Mohamed ElBaradei
2004 - Wangari Maathai
2003 - Shirin Ebadi
2002 - Jimmy Carter
2001 - United Nations, Kofi Annan
2000 - Kim Dae-jung

For more info on the win visit

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails